Lemon Law in Other States (2023)

STATE LEMON LAW STATUTES – SUMMARIES

Qualification refers to the criteria specific to that state’s lemon law. Notification is what must have been provided to the manufacturer and or dealer and must be documented. Contact an experienced lemon law attorney in your state for more information on your rights under state and federal consumer protection laws.

Alabama

AL lemon law criteria to qualify under the law:

  • 3 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 30 calendar days within shorter of 24 months or 24,000 miles, provided 1 repair attempt, or;
  • 1 day out of service is within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles.

Notification: Certified mail notice to the manufacturer and the opportunity for final repair attempt within 14 calendar days. Leased vehicles are not covered under AL lemon law.

If you think you purchased a lemon in Alabama, visit Alabama Lemon Lawyers, Krohn & Moss, Consumer Law Center.

Alaska Lemon Law

AK lemon law qualifications:

  • 3 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 30 business days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty.

Notification: Written notice by certified mail to manufacturer and dealer (or repair facility) that problem has not been corrected in reasonable number of attempts and refund or replacement demanded within 60 days. Manufacturer has 30 calendar days for final repair attempt. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Alaska lemon law coverage is provided for leased vehicles.

Arizona Lemon Law

AZ lemon law criteria to qualify under the law:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 30 calendar days within shorter of 2 years or 24,000 miles.

Notification: Written notice and additionally, opportunity to repair to manufacturer. AZ lemon law affords coverage for leased vehicles as well as new.

For assistance with a lemon law claim in Arizona visit Krohn & Moss, Consumer Law Center.

Arkansas Lemon Law

Qualifying criteria for AR lemon law:

  • 3 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 1 unsuccessful repair of a problem likely to cause death or serious bodily injury within longer of 24 months or 24,000 miles.

Notification: Certified or registered mail notice to manufacturer. Manufacturer has 10 days to notify consumer of repair facility, the facility has 10 days to repair.

California Lemon Law

To qualify under CA lemon law, consumer must have:

  • 4 times subject to repair, or;
  • 30 calendar days out of service (can be non-consecutive) within shorter of 18 months or 18,000 miles, or;
  • A reasonable number of attempts during entire express warranty period.

Notification: Direct written notice to manufacturer and delivery of car to repair facility for repair attempt within 30 days. UPDATED AS OF 1/1/01: only 2 times subject to repair allowed for safety defects likely to cause death or serious bodily injury. Coverage has been expanded to include small businesses registering up to 5 vehicles, weighing up to 10,000 pounds each.

Colorado Lemon Law

Qualifying criteria for CO lemon law:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 30 business days within shorter of 1 year or warranty.

Notification: Prior certified mail notice for each defect occurrence and opportunity to repair for manufacturer.

Connecticut Lemon Law

CT lemon law requires one of the following criteria be met to qualify:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 2 years or 24,000 miles or;
  • 2 unsuccessful repairs of a problem likely to cause death or serious bodily injury within warranty period or 1 year.

Notification: Report to manufacturer, agent or dealer. Written notice to manufacturer only if required in owner’s manual or warranty. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Leased vehicles are covered under CT lemon law as well.

Delaware Lemon Law

DE lemon law qualifying criteria:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty.

Notification: Written notice and in addition, opportunity to repair to manufacturer. DE lemon law afford coverage for leased vehicles.

District of Columbia (D.C.) Lemon Law

DC lemon law qualification(s):

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 30 calendar days out of service, or;
  • 1 unsuccessful repair of safety-related defect, within shorter of 2 years or 18,000 miles.

Notification: Report of each defect occurrence to manufacturer, agent or dealer. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Note: Enforcement is suspended until October 1, 2000. Law applies to and includes leased vehicles.

(Video) How Does The Lemon Law Work | Is Lemon Law For Consumers Real?

Florida Lemon Law

FL lemon law qualifications:

  • 3 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 15 calendar days within 24 months from delivery.

Notification: Written notice by certified or express mail to manufacturer who has 10 calendar days for final repair attempt after delivery to designated dealer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Coverage includes leased vehicles.

Georgia Lemon Law

Qualifications for GA lemon law:

  • 1 repair attempt in the braking or steering system or 3 repair attempts or;
  • 30 calendar days out of service for other problems.
  • Repairs must have occurred within 24 months of purchase of vehicle or 24,000 miles of use
  • Repair attempts must have been performed by a manufacturer’s authorized dealer or repair facility.

Notification: lWritten notice and the opportunity to repair to manufacturer. State-run arbitration mechanism available.

Hawaii Lemon Law

Qualifications for HI lemon law:

  • 3 unsuccessful repair attempts, or;
  • 1 unsuccessful repair attempt of defect likely to cause death or serious bodily injury, or;
  • 30 business days out of service within shorter of two years or 24,000 miles.

Notification: Written notice and the opportunity to repair to manufacturer. State-run arbitration mechanism available. HI state lemon law includes coverage for leased vehicles.

Idaho Lemon Law

Qualification:

  • 4 repair attempts, or;
  • 30 business days out of service within shorter of 2 years or 24,000 miles, or;
  • 1 repair of a complete failure of the braking or steering system likely to cause death or serious bodily injury.

Notification: Written notice to manufacturer or dealer and opportunity to repair. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Law is applicable to leased vehicles.

Illinois Lemon Law

Under IL lemon law one of these criteria would qualify a consume for relief:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 30 business days out of service within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles.

Notification: Written notice and opportunity to repair to manufacturer. Il lemon law applies to leased vehicles.

Indiana Lemon Law

Qualifications for Indiana lemon law:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 30 business days out of service within the shorter of 18 months or 18,000 miles.

Notification: Written notice to manufacturer only if manufacturer included this requirement in the warranty. IN lemon law coverage applies to leased vehicles.

Iowa Lemon Law

IA lemon law qualifications:

  • 3 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 1 unsuccessful repair of a nonconformity likely to cause death or serious bodily injury, or;
  • 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 2 years or 24,000 miles.

Notification: Written notice by certified registered mail, final opportunity to repair within 10 calendar days of receipt of notice to manufacturer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. IA lemon law covers leased vehicles.

Kansas Lemon Law

KS lemon law criteria for qualification:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 30 calendar days out of service, or;
  • 10 total repairs within shorter of 1 year or warranty.

Notification: Actual notice to manufacturer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Leased vehicles are covered under KS lemon law.

Kentucky Lemon Law

Qualifications for KY lemon law:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles.

Notification: Written notice to manufacturer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Kentucky lemon law provides coverage for leased vehicles as well as new.

Louisiana Lemon Law

Qualifications for coverage under LA lemon law:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty.

Notification: Report to manufacturer or dealer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Lemon Law covers leased vehicles.

Maine Lemon Law

ME lemon law qualifications for coverage, one must apply:

  • 3 unsuccessful repairs (when at least 2 times the same agent attempted repair), or;
  • 15 business days out of service within shorter of warranty or 2 years or 18,000 miles.
  • Applies to vehicles within the first 18,000 miles or 2 years regardless of whether the claimant is the original owner.

Notification: Written notice to manufacturer or dealer only if required in warranty or owner’s manual. Manufacturer has 7 business days after receipt for final repair attempt. State-run arbitration mechanism available. ME lemon law applies to leased vehicles.

(Video) Lemon law, state and federal tips

Maryland Lemon Law

MD lemon law criteria for qualification:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs, 30 calendar days out of service, or;
  • 1 unsuccessful repair of braking or steering system within shorter of 15 months or 15,000 miles.

Notification: Certified mail notice, return receipt requested and opportunity to repair within 30 calendar days of receipt of notice to manufacturer or factory branch. The MD lemon law cover leased vehicles as well.

Massachusetts Lemon Law

Qualifying criteria for MA lemon law:

  • 3 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 15 business days out of service within shorter of 1 year or 15,000 miles.

Notification: Notice to manufacturer or dealer who has 7 business days to attempt final repair. State-run arbitration mechanism available.

Michigan Lemon Law

Qualification:

  • Total of 4 unsuccessful repairs within 2 years from the date of the first unsuccessful repair or;
  • 30 calendar days within shorter of 1 year or warranty.

Notification: Certified mail notice, return receipt requested, to manufacturer who has 5 business days to repair after delivery. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law applies to leased vehicles.

Minnesota Lemon Law

Qualifications for MN lemon law protection:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 30 business days out of service, or;
  • 1 unsuccessful repair of total braking or steering loss likely to cause death or serious

bodily injury within shorter of 2 years or warranty.

Notification: Written notice and opportunity to repair to manufacturer, agent or dealer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. The Minnesota lemon law specifically covers leased vehicles.

Mississippi Lemon Law

MS lemon law qualifying criteria:

  • 3 unsuccessful repairs or;
  • 15 business days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty.

Notification: Written notice to manufacturer who has 10 business days to repair after delivery to designated dealer. Leased vehicles are not covered under MS lemon law.

Missouri Lemon Law

Qualifications for MO lemon law:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 30 business days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty.

Notification: Written notice to manufacturer who has 10 calendar days to repair after delivery to designated dealer. Missouri lemon law does not provide protection for leased vehicles.

Montana Lemon Law

Qualifications – MT lemon law:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 30 business days out of service after notice within shorter of 2 years or 18,000 miles.

Notification: Written notice and opportunity to repair to manufacturer. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Leased vehicles are included in MT lemon law protection.

Nebraska Lemon Law

NE lemon law qualifications:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs or 40 calendar days out of service within 1 year or warranty, whichever is shorter.

Notification: Certified mail notice and opportunity to repair to manufacturer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. NE lemon law protection extends to leased and purchased vehicles.

Nevada Lemon Law

To qualify for NV lemon law, you must either:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs or
  • 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty.

Notification: Written notice to manufacturer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Nevada lemon law does not provide protection for leased vehicles.

New Hampshire Lemon Law

NH lemon law qualifying criteria includes:

  • 3 unsuccessful repairs by same dealer, or;
  • 30 business days out of service within warranty.

Notification: Report to manufacturer, distributor, agent or dealer (through forms provided by manufacturer) and final opportunity to repair before arbitration. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Law applies to leased vehicles as well as new.

New Jersey Lemon Law

Your vehicle qualified for NJ lemon law if:

(Video) How Does The Lemon Law Work? How Do I Know If I Have A Lemon Car?

  • 3 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 20 calendar days out of service within whichever is shorter, 2 years or 18,000 miles.

Notification: Certified mail notice, return receipt requested to manufacturer who has 10 days to repair. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

New Mexico Lemon Law

NM lemon law criteria to qualify for coverage:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 30 business days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty.

Notification: Written notice and the opportunity to repair to manufacturer, agent or dealer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. NM lemon law does not cover leased vehicles.

New York Lemon Law

NY lemon law qualification include:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs, or;
  • 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 2 years or 18,000 miles.

Notification: Notice to manufacturer, agent or dealer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Leased vehicles are covered under NY lemon law.

North Carolina Lemon Law

Qualifications for NC lemon law protection:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs within shorter of 24 months, 24,000 miles or warranty, or;
  • 20 business days out of service during any 12 month period of warranty.

Notification/Trigger: Written notice to manufacturer + opportunity to repair within 15 calendar days of receipt only if required in warranty or owner’s manual. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

North Dakota Lemon Law

Criteria to qualify for ND lemon law:

  • 3 unsuccessful repairs or;
  • 30 business days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty.

Notification: Direct written notice and opportunity to repair to manufacturer. (Manufacturers informal arbitration process serves as a prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. N. Dakota lemon law offers coverage for leased vehicles.

Ohio Lemon Law

Qualifications for OH lemon law:

  • 3 unsuccessful repairs of same nonconformity.
  • 30 calendar days out of service, 8 total repairs of any nonconformity, or;
  • 1 unsuccessful repair of problem likely to cause death or serious bodily injury within shorter of 1 year or 18,000 miles.

Notification: Report to manufacturer, its agent or dealer. Law applicable for leased vehicles.

Oklahoma Lemon Law

OK lemon law qualifications:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs or;
  • 45 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty.

Notification: Written notice and opportunity to repair to manufacturer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Leased vehicles are includes under OK’s lemon law.

Oregon Lemon Law

OR lemon law criteria for qualification:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs or;
  • 30 business days within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles.

Notification: Direct written notice and opportunity to repair to manufacturer. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. OR lemon law coverage includes leased vehicles.

Pennsylvania Lemon Law

PA lemon law qualifications/criteria:

  • 3 unsuccessful repairs or;
  • 30 calendar days within shorter of 1 year, 12,000 miles, or warranty.

Notification: Delivery to authorized service and repair facility. If delivery impossible, written notice to manufacturer or its repair facility obligates them to pay for delivery. Manufacturer’s informal arbitration process serves as prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement. Under PA lemon law.

Rhode Island Lemon Law

RI lemon law criteria for qualification:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs or;
  • 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or 15,000 miles.

Notification: Report to dealer or manufacturer who has 7 days for final repair opportunity. Manufacturers informal arbitration process serves as prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement. The RI lemon law is applicable for leased vehicles.

South Carolina Lemon Law

Qualifications for SC lemon law:

  • 3 unsuccessful repairs or;
  • 30 calendar days out of service whichever is shorter, 1 year or 12,000 miles.

Notification: Written notice by certified mail and opportunity to repair (not more than 10 business days) to manufacturer however, only if manufacturer informed consumer of such at time of sale. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. SC lemon law offers coverage for leased vehicles.

South Dakota Lemon Law

SD lemon law qualifications:

(Video) Lemon Law Around the US - Ep. 6.018

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs, 1 of which occurred during the shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles, or;
  • 30 calendar days out of service during shorter of 24 months or 24,000 miles.

Notification/Trigger: Certified mail notice to manufacturer and final opportunity to repair + 7 calendar days to notify consumer of repair facility.†(Manufacturerís informal arbitration process serves as prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement.)â€

Tennessee Lemon Law

Qualifying criteria for TN lemon law:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs or;
  • 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty.

Notification/Trigger: Certified mail notice to manufacturer and final opportunity to repair within 10 calendar days. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Texas Lemon Law

TX lemon law qualifications:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs when 2 occurred within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles, and

other 2 occur within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles immediately following second repair attempt; or;

  • 2 unsuccessful repairs of a serious safety defect when 1 occurred within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles and other occurred within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles immediately following first repair or:
  • 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 2 years or 24,000 miles and at least 2 attempts were made within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles.

Notification: Written notice to manufacturer. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Leased vehicles are covered under TX lemon law.

Utah Lemon Law

Qualifications for UT Lemon Law

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs or;
  • 30 business days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty.

Notification: Report to manufacturer, agent or dealer. (Manufacturer’s informal arbitrations process serves as prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement.) UT lemon law afford coverage for leased vehicles.

Vermont Lemon Law

Qualifications for VT lemon law

  • 3 unsuccessful repairs when at least first repair was within warranty, or;
  • 30 calendar days out of service within warranty.

Notification/Trigger: Written notice to manufacturer (on provided forms) after third repair attempt, or 30 days. Arbitration must be held within 45 days after notice, during which time manufacturer has 1 final repair. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Virginia Lemon Law

Criteria for qualification under VA lemon law

3 unsuccessful repairs, or;

  • 1 repair attempt of serious safety defect, or;
  • 30 calendar days out of service within 18 months.

Notification: Written notice to manufacturer. If 3 unsuccessful repairs or 30 days already exhausted before notice, manufacturer has 1 more repair attempt not to exceed 15 days. State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Washington Lemon Law

Criteria to quality for Washington Lemon Law:

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs
  • 30 calendar days out of service (15 during warranty period), or
  • 2 repairs of serious safety defects first reported within shorter of warranty or 24 months or 24,000 miles.
  • One repair attempt and 15 of the 30 days must fall within manufacturer’s express warranty of at least 1 year of 12,000 miles.

Notification: Written notice to manufacturer. State-run arbitration mechanism available. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles and new vehicles. Note: Consumer should receive replacement or refund within 40 calendar days of request.

West Virginia Lemon Law

Criteria to qualify for WV Lemon Law:

  • 3 unsuccessful repairs or;
  • 30 calendar days out of service or;
  • 1 unsuccessful repair of problem likely to cause death or serious bodily injury within shorter of 1 year or warranty.

Notification: Written notice and opportunity to repair to manufacturer. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles as well.

Wisconsin Lemon Law

Criteria to qualify for WI lemon law

  • 4 unsuccessful repairs or
  • 30 calendar days out of service within shorter of 1 year or warranty.

Notification – Report to manufacturer or dealer, Wisconsin Lemon Law does app apply to leased vehicles. Note: Consumer should receive replacement or refund within 30 calendar days after offer to return title.

Wyoming Lemon Law

Criteria to Qualify in Wyoming

  • 3 unsuccessful repairs or
  • 30 business days out of service within 1 year.

Notification – Direct written notice and opportunity to repair to manufacturer. (Manufacturer’s informal arbitrations process serves as prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement.)

FAQs

Is lemon law only in California? ›

What if I bought my automobile out of state? The California Lemon Law applies only to vehicles purchased in the State of California. However, if you purchased your vehicle outside the State of California you may qualify for a case under the federal Lemon Law, known as the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act.

What is Utah's lemon law? ›

Utah's lemon law essentially explains that if a new motor vehicle doesn't live up to what the dealer guaranteed, and if the purchaser timely reports the problem to the dealer, the dealer must make any needed repairs or, if unable to repair the vehicle, either refund the purchase price or provide the unhappy purchaser a ...

Is there a lemon law for used cars in Wisconsin? ›

Used vehicles are not considered “lemons”. If you have issues with a used vehicle purchased from a Wisconsin dealer, you may want to file a dealer complaint.

Which state has the strongest consumer protection laws? ›

These are the states that offer the strongest UDAP protection in the country.
  • Hawaii. Hawaii is named by the NCLC as one of the state's with a particularly strong collection of UDAP laws. ...
  • Massachusetts. ...
  • Connecticut. ...
  • Vermont. ...
  • Illinois.

What state is the state of lemons? ›

California's lemon law applies to new, used, and leased vehicles. It covers your car if there's a problem that makes it hard to use, lowers its value, or makes it unsafe and the dealer can not repair the defect after a reasonable number of attempts when a vehicle remains under a new car warranty.

What makes a car a lemon? ›

The specifics vary slightly from state to state but in broad terms, a car can be classified as a lemon when it has “a substantial defect covered by warranty that occurred within a certain time or number of miles after you bought the car,” and can't be fixed after a “reasonable number of repair attempts.”

What happens if my car can't be fixed? ›

All 50 states have some form of Lemon Law which mandates that manufacturers must buy back or replace fatally flawed cars. That is, the cars that cannot be repaired after a certain number of repair attempts or days in the shop. This is often four times OR 30 days in the first year.

Can you return a new car if it has problems? ›

What can you do? There has to be a proven defect. If you can prove that the vehicle you were sold was not fit for the purpose when you bought it, you have a leg to stand on – but you as the buyer has to provide the evidence. This puts you in a position to demand a repair, replacement, or refund.

What is the lemon law in Idaho? ›

Idaho's lemon law covers vehicle “nonconformities,” which include defects or conditions that impair the vehicle's use or market value. The law does not cover nonconformities resulting from abuse, neglect or unauthorized modifications or alterations of the vehicle.

What is a buyback lemon? ›

What is a Lemon Law Buyback Vehicle? A Lemon Law buyback vehicle is a vehicle that has been reacquired by the manufacturer, on or after January 1, 1996, due to specified warranty defect(s). The vehicle must be registered in the manufacturer's name prior to resale to a member of the public.

Can I return a car I just bought in Utah? ›

Return Policy

Utah law has a 3 day right of return provision but it does not apply to motor vehicles. Your return policy must be included on the Contract of Sale and/or posted in the dealership even if you don't allow any vehicle to be returned.

Is there a lemon law in Minnesota? ›

Minnesota's vehicle warranty statute, also known as Minnesota's Lemon Law, helps protect buyers who buy or lease a new car, pickup truck, or van that is still under the original manufacturer's warranty (See Minnesota Statute 325F. 665).

Does Michigan have lemon laws? ›

Answer: The Lemon Law applies to passenger vehicles, sport utility vehicles, pickup trucks, and vans that are purchased or leased in Michigan or purchased or leased by a Michigan resident (regardless of whether the vehicle was purchased or leased in Michigan) and covered by a manufacturer's express warranty at the time ...

Does Iowa Have lemon law? ›

The Iowa Lemon Law is designed to allow car owners to pursue complaints independently. We hope this information will help answer your questions about the Lemon Law. For legal advice, and questions about your specific vehicle concerns, you should consider contacting a private attorney.

What is the toughest privacy and security law in the world? ›

Data Privacy Laws Today

The toughest data privacy/security law in the world, European Union's GDPR, imposes regulatory measures onto all organizations that target/collect data related to European Union consumers, with harsh financial penalties imposed for non-compliance.

What are 5 consumer protection laws? ›

In the United States a variety of laws at both the federal and state levels regulate consumer affairs. Among them are the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, the Fair Credit Reporting Act, Truth in Lending Act, Fair Credit Billing Act, and the Gramm–Leach–Bliley Act.

Which state has the strictest privacy laws? ›

California, the toughest of all

One of the toughest privacy laws in the nation, CCPA has some similarities with GDPR. For example: It applies not only to locally based entities, but to anyone who does business in the state and collects personal information of its residents.

Which of the following items can affect a lemon law claim? ›

As a recap, some of the most common things that can void the Lemon Law in California include: Abuse and neglect by an owner that causes a vehicle defect. Adding after-market parts and modifications that result in a defective vehicle. Failure to make a reasonable number of attempts to have the vehicle repaired.

Can you return a financed car back to the dealer if it's faulty? ›

There is a California Lemon Law that allows you to return a new or used vehicle to a dealership if you can prove that it is a lemon with chronic mechanical or electrical defects. Under Lemon Law, you can get a replacement vehicle or a refund of the original purchase price.

Does lemon law apply to cars? ›

Lemon Law benefits consumers whom have unintentionally bought a defective or 'lemon' product including used cars, and would like a repair, refund or replacement from the seller.

Which cars are considered lemons? ›

List of Vehicle Manufacturers With the Most Lemons in 2022
  • Fiat.
  • Cadillac.
  • Porsche.
  • Jeep.
  • Volkswagen.
  • Subaru.
  • Land Rover.
  • GMC.
15 Feb 2022

What happens when your car turns out to be a lemon? ›

If your car meets the lemon law requirements for your state, you have the right to obtain a refund or replacement car from the manufacturer. Although the process for getting this relief is different in each state, in all states, you must first notify the manufacturer of the defect.

How lemon law benefits car buyers? ›

To protect consumers from defective cars, states have enacted "lemon laws." These laws give car buyers the right to receive a refund or new car, if the new car they purchased has serious defects or mechanical problems.

At what point is a car not worth fixing? ›

Used car repairs on an aging vehicle might not be worth the costs if the vehicle has high mileage and is generally deteriorating. You may not want to keep investing in repairs to a vehicle that will continue to break down.

How long can a mechanic legally keep your car to fix? ›

How long can a mechanic keep my car? There is no legal limit to how long a mechanic can keep your car. If you are unsatisfied with your service, you can always take your business elsewhere and try to find another mechanic.

What to do with a car that is too expensive to fix? ›

You have several options to get rid of your vehicle, including:
  1. Sell it to the repair shop, as they can use it for parts.
  2. Sell the vehicle online.
  3. Get scrap money for it.
  4. Sell to an enthusiast who restores vehicles as a passion project or to a younger kid as a fixer-upper.
29 Oct 2021

How long after I buy a car can I return it? ›

Federal Cooling-Off Rule

The Federal Trade Commission's “cooling-off” rule — established in the 1970s — allows consumers three days to cancel a transaction. This rule often gets tossed around if a consumer wants to return a car they just bought.

What happens if a car breaks down after you buy it? ›

If the car wasn't reasonably durable

If you can show the seller has breached the legal warranty, you have options: You can ask for the seller to pay for any repairs. You can cancel the agreement, return the vehicle, and ask for your money back.

Can I return a car I just financed? ›

Unless your vendor has communicated a return policy, like a 7-day time window for changing your mind, you cannot return a car due to buyer's remorse. Once you've signed off on your financed car purchase, it's legally yours.

Does Idaho lemon law apply to used cars? ›

Idaho Lemon Law doesn't apply to used cars or used RV's.

It applies to NEW vehicles. But, if the used vehicle is bought within the two years or 24,000 miles from the start of warranty, used car Lemon Law applies.

What is the Idaho Consumer Protection Act? ›

Idaho's Consumer Protection Act was enacted in 1971 to “protect both consumers and businesses against unfair methods of competition and unfair or deceptive acts and practices in the conduct of trade or commerce” and to set forth procedures to secure this protection.

How does the California lemon law work? ›

If your vehicle is a lemon, the manufacturer must promptly repurchase or replace it. You have the right to choose a refund instead of a replacement. Lemon vehicles that are bought back by dealers and then resold must be identified as a “lemon law buyback” and have a “lemon” sticker on their door.

Are dealer buybacks worth it? ›

Just because a vehicle is a manufacturer buyback doesn't necessarily mean it's not fit to drive — but it's crucial to do your diligence. Depending on whether the defect that made the car a lemon has been fully repaired, a buyback can offer significant value and suit your specific needs and budget.

How do car buybacks work? ›

A buyback, or repurchase, is when the automotive manufacturer agrees to refund you the money spent on your defective vehicle. Buyback is one of the faster methods of getting compensation, since they simply cut you a check for the full price of the vehicle including sales taxes, title registration and other fees.

Is a buyback the same as a lemon? ›

A lemon law buyback is a vehicle that has been repurchased by the manufacturer after a lemon law dispute and that is now being put up for sale once again. Why would you buy a vehicle that was branded a Lemon and returned to the manufacturer?

What are my rights for returning a car? ›

The Act states the car must be “of a satisfactory quality”, “fit for purpose” and “as described”. (For a used car, “satisfactory quality” takes into account the car's age and mileage.) You have a right to reject something faulty and you're entitled to a full refund within 30 days of purchase in most cases.

Can I return a car I just bought in Florida? ›

Buyers should read and understand the purchase contract before signing. Many consumers mistakenly believe they have three days to cancel the purchase contract. There is no cooling off period under Florida law.

Can you return a used car if it has problems in Utah? ›

Utah Used Car Return Laws

There is no right to return a used car in Utah. Even if a used vehicle comes with a warranty and the dealer cannot fix a problem covered by that warranty, the dealer is under no obligation to take the car back.

Does North Dakota have a lemon law? ›

North Dakota's Lemon Law (contained in N.D.C.C. Chapter 51-07) applies only to new cars. It does not apply to any other motorized vehicle or to used cars. When you buy a used car, you buy it “as is,” unless a warranty is included in the purchase.

What makes a car a lemon in Minnesota? ›

One unsuccessful attempt to repair a defect that has caused the complete failure of the steering or braking system and that is likely to cause death or serious bodily injury if the vehicle is driven; or, A car that has been out of service due to warranty repairs for 30 or more cumulative business days.

Does Minnesota have a cooling off period for cars? ›

Once the seller provides proper notice, the three business days right to cancel begins to run. The Three-Day Cooling-Off Law does not apply when you buy a vehicle.

What are the lemon laws in Indiana? ›

Indiana's “Lemon Law” (The Motor Vehicle Protection Act) provides protection to Hoosiers who purchase vehicles that don't meet certain basic standards. Report the problem within 18 months of initial ownership of the vehicle or before 18,000 total miles, whichever comes first.

What is considered a lemon car in Texas? ›

It has a substantial manufacturing defect. The defect is covered by a manufacturer's written warranty. The owner reports the defect to the dealer or manufacturer within the warranty term. The owner gives the dealer a reasonable number of attempts to repair the defect or condition.

Is there a Lemon Law for used cars in Wisconsin? ›

Used vehicles are not considered “lemons”. If you have issues with a used vehicle purchased from a Wisconsin dealer, you may want to file a dealer complaint.

Is there a Lemon Law in Nebraska? ›

The Lemon Law applies to motor vehicles that are: (1) purchased in Nebraska, (2) not previously owned by someone else, and (3) covered by warranty or less than one year old. WHAT VEHICLES ARE NOT COVERED BY THE LEMON LAW? Vehicles not covered are trailers, self-propelled mobile homes, and used vehicles.

Can I return a car I just bought in Iowa? ›

Iowa law does not generally provide consumers with a right to cancel a consumer contract. Most notably, you do not have the right to cancel your purchase or contract of a vehicle from a dealer's lot.

Is there a 30 day warranty on used cars in Iowa? ›

Lemon laws in some states offer protection against manufacturer defects in both used and new vehicles, but Iowa is not one of them when it comes to used cars. The state only protects used cars if they are still under the original manufacturer express warranty.

Does Florida have a Lemon Law for new cars? ›

Florida has enacted a motor vehicle “lemon law” entitled the Motor Vehicle Sales Warranties Act at Fla. Stat § 681. Florida's lemon law applies to purchasers of new vehicles that have a condition or defect that substantially impairs the use, value, or safety of the vehicle.

Is there a Lemon Law in Arizona for used cars? ›

Used Car. Your car is covered by the Arizona Used Car Lemon Law if a major component of your car breaks before the earlier of 15 days or 500 miles after you buy the car. If it breaks, you'll still have to pay up to $25 for the first two repairs. The recovery for the consumer is the purchase amount paid for the car.

How does the Lemon Law work in Tennessee? ›

The Tennessee Lemon Law covers drivers whose vehicles suffer a nonconformity or defect within the first year of ownership or during the express warranty period (whichever comes first) that can't be repaired after repeated attempts (normally three) by a manufacturer-authorized dealership.

How does the Lemon Law work in Georgia? ›

The Georgia Lemon Law. Georgia's Lemon Law is designed to help you get a defective vehicle repaired by the manufacturer. If your motor vehicle cannot be repaired after a reasonable number of attempts and is found to be a "lemon", the law requires the manufacturer to replace or buy back (repurchase) the vehicle.

How long can a mechanic legally keep your car to fix? ›

How long can a mechanic keep my car? There is no legal limit to how long a mechanic can keep your car. If you are unsatisfied with your service, you can always take your business elsewhere and try to find another mechanic.

Does Florida have the 3 day lemon law? ›

The “lemon law rights period,” when a consumer may report a nonconformity to the manufacturer and pursue their rights under the law, in Florida is 24 months from the date of original delivery of the vehicle to the consumer. After 24 months, a consumer has 60 days to file a lemon law dispute.

What can I do if someone sold me a broken car? ›

Contact the seller and explain the problem before you do anything else. You should contact the seller yourself – or have someone else do it for you – if you have bought a vehicle and: were misled into doing so, either by false advertising or something the seller has said. the vehicle is faulty or unsafe.

Can I return a car I just bought in AZ? ›

Arizona law does not require dealers to give used car buyers a three-day right to cancel. The right to return the car in a few days for a refund exists only if the dealer grants this privilege to buyers.

Can I buy a car out of state and register it in Arizona? ›

When you purchase a vehicle from an out-of-state dealer and register it in Arizona, you show your intent to store or use it in Arizona. Therefore, the purchase is subject to state and city use tax. There is no county use tax.

What qualifies for Lemon Law Arizona? ›

In most instances to qualify under a lemon law your vehicle must only have an unreasonable repair history under the warranty, including (but not limited to) 3-4 repair attempts for the same problem, 6 repairs total on the vehicle, or 30 days out of service by reason of repair.

What is Mississippi Lemon Law? ›

The Mississippi lemon law covers motor vehicles that are sold in Mississippi, operated over Mississippi's public streets and highways, and used to transport persons or property. This includes demonstrator and lease-purchase vehicles if they were sold with a manufacturer's warranty.

How long is Lemon Law in TN? ›

In Tennessee, you must report a defect to the manufacturer during the warranty period or within one year of when you received the vehicle, whichever comes first. If you have a 6 month warranty, then you must report the defect within that 6 month term.

Can I return a used car in TN? ›

Can you return a used car? Dealers are NOT required by Tennessee or federal law to give used car buyers a right to cancel their contract. According to the Federal Trade Commission, "...the right to return the car in a few days for a refund exists only if the dealer chooses to offer this privilege.

Does GA Lemon Law apply to used vehicles? ›

Home - FAQs - Does Georgia Have a Lemon Law for Used Cars? YES, the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act covers used cars in Georgia as long as the vehicle is covered by warranty when the defect is first reported.

How long is the Lemon Law good for in Georgia? ›

The Lemon Law rights period is the period ending two years from the date the vehicle was originally delivered to you, or after the first 24,000 miles of operation following original delivery of the vehicle to you—whichever occurs first.

What is Georgia Lemon Law fee? ›

Lemon Law Dealer Fees

Pursuant to the Georgia Lemon Law [O.C.G.A. Section 10-1-791(a)], a fee of $3.00 shall be collected by every dealer from each consumer at the completion of the sale or lease of a new motor vehicle.

Videos

1. Pennsylvania Lemon Law Frequent Question #5 Vehicle purchased in another state
(Joe Litvak, Litvak Legal Group, PLLC)
2. New report shows which car companies are sued most using California's Lemon Law
(KPBS Public Media)
3. Does Your Vehicle Qualify Under California’s Lemon Law?
(Julian McMillan)
4. The car lawyer explains the Lemon Law
(VINwiki)
5. New & Used Car Purchase Lemon Laws & Other Rights
(SmithMarco Law)
6. What voids the Lemon Law?
(Amar Law Group)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Terence Hammes MD

Last Updated: 12/27/2022

Views: 5541

Rating: 4.9 / 5 (69 voted)

Reviews: 92% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Terence Hammes MD

Birthday: 1992-04-11

Address: Suite 408 9446 Mercy Mews, West Roxie, CT 04904

Phone: +50312511349175

Job: Product Consulting Liaison

Hobby: Jogging, Motor sports, Nordic skating, Jigsaw puzzles, Bird watching, Nordic skating, Sculpting

Introduction: My name is Terence Hammes MD, I am a inexpensive, energetic, jolly, faithful, cheerful, proud, rich person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.